Lion (PG)

Director

Garth Davis

Year

2016

Country

Australia | USA | UK

Length

118 mins

Cast

Dev Patel, Nicole Kidman, Rooney Mara

In 1986, Saroo was a five-year-old child in India of a poor but happy rural family. On a trip with his brother, Saroo soon finds himself alone and trapped in a moving decommissioned passenger train that takes him to Calcutta, 1500 miles away from home. Now totally lost in an alien urban environment and too young to identify either himself or his home to the authorities, Saroo struggles to survive as a street child until he is sent to an orphanage. Soon, Saroo is selected to be adopted by the Brierley family in Tasmania, where he grows up in a loving, prosperous home. However, for all his material good fortune, Saroo finds himself plagued by his memories of his lost family in his adulthood and tries to search for them even as his guilt drives him to hide this quest from his adoptive parents and his girlfriend. Only when he has an epiphany does he realize not only the answers he needs, but also the steadfast love that he has always had with all his loved ones in both worlds.

Showing at

This film is showing as part of a special event...
Cine North Autumn 2017 - The Best of British Cinema & More Coming to Cumbria!
This film is showing as part of a special event...
Cine North Autumn 2017 - The Best of British Cinema & More Coming to Yorkshire!
Pateley Bridge Memorial Hall
Sat, 26 Aug
07:30 PM
Warcop Parish Hall
Thu, 7 Sep
07:30 PM
Yew Tree Hall, High Lorton
Tue, 19 Sep
07:30 PM
The Spread Eagle
Tue, 19 Sep
07:30 PM
Gunnerside Village Hall
Sat, 23 Sep
07:30 PM
Crosby Ravensworth Village Hall
Fri, 29 Sep
07:30 PM
Appleby Public Hall
Sat, 30 Sep
07:30 PM
Brough Memorial Hall
Sun, 1 Oct
07:30 PM
Ullock Village Hall
Fri, 6 Oct
07:30 PM
Bampton Memorial Hall
Sat, 7 Oct
07:30 PM
Amerdale Hall, Arncliffe
Sat, 7 Oct
08:30 PM
Kettlewell Village Hall
Sat, 28 Oct
07:30 PM
Bishop Burton Village Hall
Sat, 28 Oct
07:30 PM
St. Bees Village Hall
Sat, 4 Nov
03:00 PM
Lund Village Hall
Fri, 1 Dec
07:30 PM
Masham Town Hall
Tue, 19 Dec
07:30 PM
Swanland Village Hall
Sat, 20 Jan
07:30 PM
Carleton Village Hall
Sun, 28 Jan
07:30 PM

© Cine North 2017 Maraid Design